The Pledge of Allegiance

pledgeI recite the Pledge of Allegiance every week at my daughter’s CYO volleyball game.

The athletes lead us and the spectators follow along with the words almost incoherent to understand in a large gymnasium.

In a school I feel I have done this a million times. You probably have done the same I would guess.

But once a month, at the beginning of our board meetings here at Northwestern Water & Sewer District, we stand up and recite the same pledge using the same words as we do in the gymnasium. But it’s different here with a small group in a smaller room, why?

vet dayAt least two board members that are present are in their 80’s and have been military veterans for 60-65 years. Their pledge is clear, their words are irrefutable, and their voices make a statement.

I listen, I hear… they mean it!

My father was a Korean War veteran, but he is now gone. This pledge helps me understand him, his life and his service to our country. My hat will be forever off in the honor of these men, our veterans.

Happy Veteran’s Day this Wednesday November 11th.

abe

NWWSD WEBSITE

NWWSD FACEBOOK PAGE

NWWSD G+

EMILYPOSTS ON TWITTER

NWWSD TWITTER FEED

Leave a Reply

